Definition: (in Scotland and Ireland) whisky.
Origin: Late 16th century from the Scottish Gaelic uisge beatha, meaning 'Water of Life'
Water of Life!
Water of Life!

It's no secret that the Scottish love their whisky, with the earliest record of distillation in Scotland dating back to 1494 - which is believed to have began life as simply a way to make use of rain-soaked barley. There are 3 different types of Scotch whisky: malt whisky (also known as single malt), grain whisky and blended whisky.

- Malt Whisky is made from malted barley, water, and yeast which is distilled in copper pot kilns and matured in barrels for a minimum of three years.

- Grain Whisky is produced by mixing malted barley with unmalted barley alongside other cereals such as maize and wheat and combined with water and yeast.

- Blended Whisky involves mixing different single malts with grain whisky. The art of blending is a close guarded secret by many distilleries.

Did you know, the spirit cannot be called Scotch until it has aged in Scotland for at least three years?

Here is our run down of the top 5 Scotch whiskies to enjoy with your haggis this coming Burns' Night:

5: Glenmorangie

Coming in at number 5 is Glenmorangie, a single malt whisky founded by William Matheson in the Scottish Highlands.


4. Singleton